Anritsu Co. announces that the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques (MTT) Society has presented Bill Oldfield with the 2011 Microwave Application Award. The award was presented to Oldfield during a ceremony at the International Microwave Symposium (IMS) in Baltimore, MD, in June.

Every year, the MTT Society presents awards to outstanding members of the microwave community for contributions made to the field of microwave technology and engineering. The Microwave Application Award received by Oldfield recognizes an individual or a team for an outstanding application of microwave theory and techniques. Award winners are selected following a process that includes nomination and a rigorous evaluation procedure.

Oldfield received the 2011 Microwave Application Award, “for innovation as demonstrated in the development of high-frequency coaxial microwave connectors.” This work, performed in the 1970s and 1980s, demonstrated that coaxial connectors could operate beyond the Ka band. His designs were significant in the development of mm-wave coaxial connectors up to 110 GHz.

“We are very proud of Bill, the work he has done, and the vast contributions he has made to Anritsu and the engineering community over the years,” said Frank Tiernan, President of Anritsu. “He has been influential in many developments that have helped shape the microwave and RF industry. I can think of few people who deserve this recognition as much as Bill.”<.p>

Oldfield has been instrumental in many revolutionary developments within the microwave & RF industry during an impressive career spanning four decades. Since starting his career at Wiltron Co. in 1963, Oldfield has been one of the industry’s leading engineers, earning more than 23 patents. He was responsible for co-pioneering the “ripple effect” with Dr. Peter Lacy, and developed the 40 GHz K-connector, 65 GHz V-connector and 110 GHz W-connector, each of which became industry standards.

In 2002, Oldfield was honored by the Automatic RF Techniques Group (ARFTG) with the distinguished Career Award, which had only been bestowed on 20 other professionals at the time. He was the first recipient since 1996.