Computer Simulation Technology marked the end of the year with the announcement of the winners of the CST University Publication Award 2009. Celebrating its sixth year, the Award is an annual grant to university institutes and researchers for their work in the application of 3D EM field simulation. The winners are awarded with extensions to their CST STUDIO SUITE installations.

Prerequisites for participation are that the papers are authored or co-authored by university researchers, published either in scientific journals or conference proceedings, and the numerical results are entirely or in part obtained through simulation using CST software products. Submissions were evaluated on a number of criteria including originality of the application or the theory, clarity of presentation, as well as the skillful usage of CST software features.

The winning papers were:

Theory and simulation of surface plasmon excitation using resonant metal nanoparticle arrays by Amitabh Ghoshal and Pieter G. Kik in the Journal of Applied Physics

Noninvasive procedure for measuring the complex permittivity of resins, catalysts, and other liquids using a partially filled rectangular waveguide structure by M. Jaleel Akhtar, Lambert E. Feher and Manfred Thumm in IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques

Role of surface plasmon polaritons on optical transmission through double layer metallic hole arrays by R. Ortuño, C. García-Meca, F.J. Rodríguez-Fortuño, J. Martí and Alejandro Martínez in Physical Review

There was also a special award for short papers, which acknowledges the importance of short conference papers in promoting the practical application of simulation. The winner was:

Simplified approach for 3-D nonlinear induction heating problems by A. Canova, F. Dughiero. F. Fasolo, M. Forzan, F. Freschi, L. Giaccone and M. Repetto in IEEE Transactions on Magnetics

Dr. Martin Timm, Marketing Director of CST, said, “The quality of the publications was outstanding and selecting the winning entries was not easy. We would like to thank everyone who contributed and hope to welcome an even larger number of participants in 2010.”