The International Engineering Consortium (IEC) honored the finalists of the 2008 DesignVision Awards by giving tribute to the best design tools and products in the semiconductor industry. The IEC's first official announcement of winners will take place at the DesignCon 2008 conference and exhibition this February 4-7 at the Santa Clara Convention Center in Santa Clara, CA.

Finalists were chosen from a record number of competing products by a panel of judges selected from the 2008 DesignCon Technical Program Committee, which contributed to the development of more than 120 sessions making up this year's educational program. This year's Technical Program Committee consists of 115 of the industry's top thought leaders.

In each of the eight categories, the 2008 award finalists include the following companies and products, respectively:

ASIC and IC Design Tools
• Cadence Design Systems, Inc. — Cadence Litho Electrical Analyzer
• GiDEL Inc. — PROCStar II
• Sequence Design — PowerTheater-Explorer

Design Verification Tools
• EVE — Zebu-XXL
• Mentor Graphics and Cadence Design Systems, Inc. — Open Verification Methodology
• Synplicity Inc. — TotalRecall Full Visibility Technology

Interconnect Technologies and Components
• Amphenol TCS — XCede
• Cinch Connectors — Cinch® iQTM Hybrid Interconnect
• Sigrity Inc. — OptimizePI

Semiconductors and ICs
• Altera Corp. — Stratix III FPGA
• Chip Estimate — and IP Concierge
• Gennum Corporation — 3 Gb/s Optical Module
• Lattice Semiconductor — LatticeXP2 FPGA Family

Semiconductors and ICs (IP)
• ARC International — ARC Video Subsystems
• Rambus — The XDRTM Memory Architecture
• Xilinx Inc. — Xilinx® MOST® NIC LogiCORE™ IP Solution

Structured/Platform ASIC, FPGA and PLD Design Tools
• Altera Corp. — Quartus II v7.1 Software with Enhanced SOPC Builder
• Lattice Semiconductor — LatticeXP2 FPGA Family
• Xilinx — Integrated Software Environment (ISE)

System-Level Design Tools
• Carbon Design Systems — Carbon Model Studio
• FuturePlus Systems Corp. — FS5000 Jitterlyzer
• Synplicity Inc. — Synplify DSP ASIC Edition

Test and Measurement Equipment
• Agilent Technologies — Agilent N6705A DC Power Analyzer
• ASA Corp. — M1 Oscilloscope Tools v5
• SyntheSys Research Inc. — BERTScope Phase Locked Loop Analyzer

The first official announcement of winners will take place at the 2008 DesignVision Awards Ceremony at DesignCon 2008 on Tuesday, February 5, 2008, at noon in the theater of the Santa Clara Convention Center.