In 1935, the Radio Club of America established a tradition of publicly recognizing outstanding achievements in the arts and sciences of radio and wireless communications. RCA’s first award was presented to Major Edward H. Armstrong for his invention of circuits that make AM and FM radio possible and for Major Armstrong’s lifetime championing the work that established the foundation for modern radio technology. The award, now known as the Armstrong Medal, is only issued when an individual has demonstrated excellence and made lasting contributions to the radio arts and sciences.

The 2023 Radio Club of America Armstrong Medal is being presented to Dr. Ajay Poddar in recognition of his legacy of innovation and his many contributions to the art and science of radio.

Dr. Ajay K. Poddar (SM 2005, Fellow 2015) is an IEEE Fellow and is a member of IEEE Eta-Kappa-Nu. He is the Chief Scientist at Synergy Microwave, NJ, USA, responsible for the design and development of signal generation and signal processing electronics for industrial, medical, and space applications. His work includes RF-MEMS (Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems) and Metamaterial-Antenna/Sensors/ Electronics. He also serves as a visiting professor at the University of Oradea, Romania, Indian Institute of Technology Jammu, India, and a guest lecturer at Technical University Munich, Germany.

Dr. Poddar’s podcast interview with the editor of Microwave Journal, dated Feb 22, 2022, was well received by readers and records the highest number of downloads in the history of Microwave Journal to date. Dr. Poddar has published many ground breaking articles with Microwave Journal and been in the news many times - check out his publications on Microwave Journal here.