AWR Corp., the innovation leader in high-frequency EDA software, announces the winners of its 2013 National Taiwan University Student Design Competition. AWR partnered with National Taiwan University in mid-2013 to sponsor the first ever Taiwan Student Design Competition. The objective of the competition was to encourage students in Taiwan to become involved in the dynamic profession of microwave and RF engineering and to apply their knowledge to practical designs using the highly efficient AWR design methodology.

Submissions were evaluated on a number of criteria, including originality of the application or the theory and clarity of presentation, as well as the effective usage of AWR Design Environment™ software features.  Prizes for the competition included both cash and in-kind software gifts. The winners were announced during an awards ceremony in December. 

The winning teams comprised:

First Prize Teams:
JuiChih Kao - A 25-45 GHz 45? Phase Shifter IC Using Modified Wilkinson Power Divider
Cheyang Chiang, Chialun Wu - Broadband Harmonics Suppression Miniaturized Band Pass Filter Using Harmonic Resonator

Second Prize Teams:
Chengyen Lin, Chingyi Hsu, Jui'an Chang - Design of 900 MHz Hybrid RF Amplifier
Chunho Chen, Chengwei Wang, Chiho Chang - A Leaky-wave Antenna Design

Third Prize Teams:
Chiyu Ko - Injection Locked Frequency Divider
Weichung Hung - Dualband Microwave Duplexer Design
Weiming Chou - Bandpass Wilkinson Power Divider with Improved Out-of-Band Rejection

Honorable Mention Teams:
Taiyi Chen - Wilkinson Power Divider and Three Metal Band Pass Filter Integrated Design
Weicheng Lin - Dualband Independent Switch Dulexer
Wenching Li - Switchable DPDT Dualband Bandpass Filter
Tseyi Hsieh - 10-20 GHz Low Noise Amplifier Using Power HEMT Process
Chiajen Liang - 60GHz Downconverter Using 90nm CMOS Process