Microwave Journal

International Microwave Power Institute Forms Solid-State RF Energy Section

May 17, 2019

The International Microwave Power Institute (IMPI) announced it has formed a Solid State RF Energy Section, comprised of IMPI members dedicated to realizing solid-state RF energy’s potential as a clean, highly efficient and controllable heat and power source.

Klaus Werner, former executive director of the RF Energy Alliance (RFEA), petitioned the IMPI Board of Governors in late April to form the new section. The vote passed the IMPI Board with overwhelming support. The RFEA disbanded at the end of 2018, recommending its members join IMPI.

“We’re very happy and thankful that the IMPI organization has welcomed us with open arms. Although the RFEA had to close down, the vision and mission of the former organization are still completely valid and relevant to the state of the solid-state RF energy industry. Within IMPI, we envision a wider audience and active collaborators within the section.” — Klaus Werner

Charter members of IMPI’s Solid State and RF Energy Section include

  • Art Aguayo (Rogers Corp.).
  • Angelo Andres and Mark Murphy (MACOM).
  • Coen Centen and Patrick Valk (Ampleon).
  • Hannes Grubinger (Huber + Suhner).
  • John Mastela and Enver Krvavac (PrecisePower).
  • Ken Kaplan (Cellencor).
  • Franck Nicholls (NXP).
  • Stephan Holtrup and Klaus Werner (pinkRF).

The Solid State RF Energy Section will hold its first meeting at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas on Friday, June 21, at the conclusion of IMPI’s 53rd Annual Microwave Power Symposium (IMPI 53), held at the same location from June 18 to 20. All IMPI members are welcome to join the new section and attend the kickoff meeting.

“We wish to welcome to IMPI the individual and corporate members of IMPI who are forming the Solid State Section. This exciting new technology represents a revolution in the world of microwave applications into areas that were not possible in the past.” — IMPI President, Bob Schiffmann

IMPI has seen significant growth over the first four months of 2019, adding nine new corporate members:

  • Dipolar (Sweden).
  • Huber + Suhner (Switzerland).
  • MACOM (U.S.).
  • pinkRF (The Netherlands).
  • PrecisePower (U.S.).
  • Rogers Corp. (U S.).
  • TurboChef (U.S.).
  • Unox S.p.A. (Italy).
  • WavePIA (South Korea).

IMPI now has 195 corporate, professional and student members from 17 countries.