advertisment Advertisement
advertisment Advertisement

Integrated Electro-Thermal Solution - Thermally Aware Simulation

/ Print /
| ShareMore
/ Text Size +
10/4/12 1:00 pm to 10/4/12 2:00 pm EDT

Agilent EDA 468x98 4oct12

 

Innovations in EDA Webcast

Title:
Integrated Electro-Thermal Solution Delivers Thermally Aware Circuit Simulation

Date:
October 4, 2012

Two Times:
7:00 AM PT/ 10:00 AM ET/ 2:00 PM UTC
10:00 AM PT/ 1:00 PM ET/ 5:00 PM UTC

Abstract:
RFIC, MMIC and RF Module designs are becoming increasingly susceptible to thermal problems as more functions are being integrated into smaller packages. Circuit simulation is a key design tool but does not directly take into account thermal effects that could greatly impact device performance. This webcast provides an overview of a new approach to predicting electro-thermal behavior, based on a full 3D thermal solver tightly integrated with Agilent Advanced Design System (ADS) circuit simulation and IC layout environment. This solution provides accurate, “thermally aware” simulation results, including steady-state, transient, and envelope analyses, that account for thermal coupling between devices as well as heat transfer through the die and packaging. This solution is directly accessible to circuit designers and does not require the export or recreation of design data using separate thermal tools.

Who should attend:
RFIC, MMIC and RF Module designers will learn how electro-thermal analysis can optimize design performance and prevent failures due to thermal issues.

Presenters:
Rick Poore, R&D Technical Lead
Rick Poore earned his BSECE and PhD from the University of Cincinnati. He has worked on many aspects of RF and microwave circuit simulation for 20 years at EEsof, HP and Agilent. He is currently the technical lead for circuit simulation R&D at Agilent EEsof EDA.

Marc Petersen, Product Manager, EM & Electro-Thermal Solutions
Marc Petersen holds BSEE and MSEE degrees from California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo. He has over 20 years’ experience in technical marketing in RF/microwave instrumentation and EDA areas at Hewlett-Packard and Agilent Technologies. He is currently a Product Manager at Agilent EEsof EDA.

Sign-In

Forgot your password?

No Account? Sign Up!

Get access to premium content and e-newsletters by registering on the web site.  You can also subscribe to Microwave Journal magazine.

Sign-Up

advertisment Advertisement