December 19th, 2008 – Computer Simulation Technology (CST), Darmstadt, announces winners of CST University Publication Award 2008.

The CST University Publication Award is an annual grant to university institutes and researchers for their work in the application of 3D EM field simulation. Now in this its fifth year, the quality of the publications was outstanding. Prerequisites for participation are that the papers are authored or co-authored by academic researchers, published either in scientific journals or conference proceedings, and the numerical results are entirely or in part obtained through simulation using CST software products.

Submissions were evaluated on a number of criteria including originality of the application or the theory, clarity of presentation, as well as the skilful usage of CST software features. For the first time in 2008, an additional special award for short papers was introduced. This acknowledges the importance of short conference papers in promoting the practical application of simulation.

“We were delighted with the quality and diversity of papers this year. The entries for both the traditional and the short paper awards have offered invaluable insight into leading areas of research and help us understand the demands being made of our software” said Dr. Martin Timm, Marketing Director, CST. “We would like to thank everyone who contributed and hope to welcome an even larger number of participants in 2009.”

The following papers have been selected to receive the CST University Publication Award 2008:
• “Numerically-Simulated Induced Electric Field and Current Density Within a Human Model Located Close to a z-Gradient Coil”; Yan Li, PhD, Jeff W. Hand, DSc, Tim Wills, BSc, and Jo V. Hajnal, PhD; JOURNAL OF MAGNETIC RESONANCE IMAGING 26 . Click here for more information.
• “Cloaking and transparency for collections of particles with metamaterial and plasmonic covers”; Andrea Alù and Nader Engheta; OPTICS EXPRESS. Click here for more information.
• “Wideband Reconfigurable Rolled Planar Monopole Antenna”; Giuseppe Ruvio, Max J. Ammann, Zhi Ning Chen; IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON ANTENNAS AND PROPAGATION.